Follow

Purchase with a Bolt Account

Bolt allows customers to create a Bolt Account. If a customer has a Bolt account, there are three ways for a customer to login and buy with Instant Checkout. The configuration used by a merchant on their site will determine how a customer may log in.

Configuration One - Standard Creation

This is the default and most common configuration. Bolt does not need a username and a password to log in. Instead, Bolt uses a six-digit code verification. The customer is then sent a verification to their registered device. The verification acts as an authentication and allows the customer to log in.

The steps required for a customer to log in are:

  1. The customer enters Bolt Checkout.
  2. The customer enters an email address and phone number. (See Note)
  3. Bolt recognizes the information. Bolt then sends a six-digit code to the customer's phone number for verification.
  4. Login completes as soon as the six-digit code is entered and authenticated. The customer is then directed to Instant Checkout. If the customer does not want their device to remain logged in, they can uncheck the Keep me logged in checkbox.

NoteWhen a customer returns to buy using Bolt for the second time, they must enter both their phone number and email. This will allow Bolt to recognize their account and send them the six-digit code. After that, customers will need to use only one, either their phone number or their email. This will now be enough for Bolt to recognize the account and send the authentication code

Configuration Two - Merchant Account Integration

Merchants may want to integrate their existing customer accounts with Bolt Accounts. This configuration requires extra setup. To use the merchant must contact Bolt Support so they can enable it. There will be limitations for the customer. The customer will not be able to log in from within the Bolt Checkout. Nor will the customer be able to access their Bolt Accounts on other merchant sites.

The steps required for a customer to log in are:

  1. The customer logs into their account associated with the merchant’s site. Each merchant maintains their own workflow for customers to log in.
  2. The customer enters Bolt Checkout.
  3. The site sends the customer's account ID to Bolt. Then Bolt checks the database for a matching Bolt account. If Bolt finds a match, the customer moves to Instant Checkout.

Once logged in customers will see a one-page checkout. The page is pre-filled with all their preferred information. Customers can manage their addresses and payment methods. They may also use all the basic checkout features. These features may include discounts, and order notes if enabled by the merchant. After completing their checkout, customers are sent to the merchant's order confirmation page.

Configuration Three - Remove Bolt's Success Page

This configuration is a variant of configuration one or two.  Merchants can opt to have the customer skip the Bolt Success page. Contact Bolt Support to activate this configuration. When a merchant uses this feature, the Bolt checkout experience will change.

The steps required for a customer to log in are:

  1. The customer enters Bolt Checkout.
  2. The customer enters an email address and phone number. (See Note)
  3. Bolt recognizes the information. Bolt then sends a six-digit code to the customer's phone number for verification.
  4. The customer can check the Stay logged in on this device checkbox. If they do, they will remain logged in indefinitely. If they uncheck the box, Bolt will automatically log them out after 2 hours.
  5. Login completes as soon as the six-digit code is entered and authenticated. The customer is then directed to Instant Checkout. If the customer does not want their device to remain logged in, they can uncheck the Keep me logged in checkbox.Group_11.png
  6. Instead of seeing the Bolt Success page after clicking pay the customer will see an animation.
  7. The checkout page will change and the button text will read 'Creating our order.' This will appear for up to two seconds.Group_10_10.29.21_AM.png
  8. Then the button will now read 'Processing Payment.' This will appear for up to two seconds.
    Loading_animation_step_2.png
  9. And finally, the button will now read 'Completing your order.' Loading_animation_step_3.png 
  10. The customer is then sent to the merchant's order confirmation page.

Mobile Version

Customers using the mobile version will have the same experience.

Screen_Shot_2020-01-23_at_3.10_1.png

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments