Follow

Creating a Bolt Account

Customers may save their information and create a Bolt Account. This will speed up checkout for future purchases. It will also create a smoother customer experience.

When a customer returns to a Bolt enabled site, Bolt will recognize them by their email and phone number. These two items are tied to their Bolt account. Bolt sends a code to the customer's phone to verify their identity, instead of using a username and a password. This code is then used to login to the customer's account to access and manage their information. The section below covers the standard steps for creating an account. See Skipping Bolt's Success Page for alternative steps.

These are the standard steps to create a Bolt Account:

  1. On the payment step of the guest checkout, the customer should check the Remember my information checkbox before clicking Pay.
  2. Once the customer has submitted their order they will see the Bolt Success screen. They will then be sent to the merchant's order confirmation page. An account has now been created for this customer.
    By default, customers will remain logged in on their devices. They may choose to click Logout on this device or wait until they are automatically redirected to the merchant’s order confirmation page. If they wait, Bolt will log them out automatically after two hours.

mceclip0.png

Remove Bolt's Success Page

Merchants can opt to have customers skip the Bolt Success page. When a merchant uses this feature, the Bolt Account creation will change. 

The customer experience will be:

  • The customer checks the Remember my information on this device checkbox. This option is on by default.
    Group_18.png
  • The customer clicks the Pay button
  • Instead of seeing the Bolt Success page after clicking Pay the customer will see an animated button as follows:

    1. The checkout page will change and the button text will then read 'Creating our order.' This will appear for up to two seconds.
      Group_14.png
    2. Then the button will read 'Processing Payment.' This will appear for up to two seconds.
      Loading_animation_step_2.png
    3. And finally, the button will read 'Completing your order.' Group_12.png
  • During the order creation animation, the customer will see a confirmation that their information has been saved. This means that a Bolt account has been created for the customer. The account will use the phone number they provided during checkout.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments