Follow

Customer Notifications

Bolt can be configured to send various notifications to customers. To see a complete list of merchant and customer notifications, please see Bolt Notifications.

These notifications include:

Order Notifications 

When a customer completes checkout, Bolt sends them an order confirmation email and a short message service(SMS) text message. 

The email is composed as follows:

  • The Retailer’s logo is added to the top of the email.
  • The subject is Your Purchase at [retailer name] (ref: [order number]).
  • The reply-to email is Bolt’s support email.

Merchants cannot customize the reply-to email or any content within the email. These notifications are disabled by default. Merchants can choose to have Bolt enable them. 

order_confirmation.png

Micro Auth

Micro Auth is is a feature used, for some orders, during the order review process. When a risk analyst reviews an order, they determine whether an order should be approved, deferred, or permanently rejected. If the order is considered risky but borderline, the analyst can trigger the micro-auth and require verification before the transaction is completed.  

If the micro-auth verification succeeds (within 48 hours), the transaction is automatically approved. 

Order Rejected (Email & SMS)

When a customer's order is permanently rejected, they are sent an Order Rejected email and SMS. The message text is:

Unfortunately your order at Merchant Name could not be processed. The total amount of [$XX.XX] has been returned to your credit card. Note that depending on your financial institution, it may take up to 7 days for an authorization to disappear. 

We apologize for any inconvenience. This could be due to a security protection or a failed bank authorization. For more details or assistance, please email Bolt,
[Merchant Name's] payment processor at support@bolt.com.

These notifications are disabled by default. Merchants can choose to have Bolt enable them. 

Order Refunded (Email & SMS)

If a charge on a customer's card is refunded, they are sent an Order Refunded email. These notifications are disabled by default. Merchants can choose to have Bolt enable them. If you wish to enable Bolt notifications  please email our support team.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments