Follow

User Permission Levels

Bolt's permissions system enables merchants to limit the actions that employees of their organizations can take. This page describes each of the permission levels that are available on Bolt, and which actions such users can and cannot take. 

  • Administrator - An administrator has access to every function and feature in Bolt. This permission is recommended for company executives, eCommerce Directors, or other members of the team who need to have expansive access to the system to ensure success with Bolt.  Administrator's can take actions including:
    • Viewing and downloading transactions
    • Creating and deleting users
    • Viewing and downloading statements
    • Issuing refunds
    • Voiding authorizations
    • Approving recently-rejected transactions
    • Booking orders through the virtual terminal
    • Recharging customers
    • Viewing the Overview tab to see store performance statistics
    • Viewing the Developers tab to monitor cart sync failures
    • Viewing API keys and managing URLs
    • Modifying the company logo that displays on checkout
    • Setting up and viewing abandoned cart emails
  • Developer - A developer has the ability to manage transactions and has access to your API. This permission is recommended for developers responsible for integrating Bolt into your website and maintaining that integration. Developers can take actions including:
    • Viewing and downloading transactions
    • Issuing refunds
    • Voiding authorizations
    • Approving recently-rejected transactions
    • Recharging customers
    • Viewing the Developers tab to monitor cart sync failures
    • Viewing API keys and managing URLs
    • Modifying the company log that displays on checkout
    • Setting up and viewing abandoned cart emails.
    • Developers CANNOT create and delete users; view or download statements: book orders through the virtual terminal; or view the overview tab to see store performance statistics.
  • Analyst - An analyst has the ability to view transactions and financial statements. This permission is recommended for members of your accounting or finance teams who need to analyze key business performance metrics and reconcile transactions across systems. Analysts can take actions including:
    • Viewing and downloading transactions
    • Viewing and downloading statements
    • Viewing the Overview tab to see store performance statistics
    • Viewing abandoned cart emails.
    • Analysts CANNOT create and delete users; issue refunds; recharge customers; book orders through the virtual terminal; void authorizations; approve recently-rejected transactions; view the developers tab to monitor cart sync failures; view API keys and manage URLs; or modify the company logo that displays on checkout.
  • Support - A user with Support permissions can manage transactions. This permission is recommended for your customer support team. Users with Support permissions can take actions including:
    • Viewing and downloading transactions
    • Issuing refunds
    • Voiding authorizations
    • Approving recently-rejected transactions
    • Recharging customers
    • Booking orders through the virtual terminal
    • Viewing abandoned cart emails
    • Support CANNOT create and delete users; view and download statements; view API keys and manage URLs; view the Overview tab to see store performance statistics; view the Developers tab to monitor cart sync failures; or modify the company logo that displays on checkout.
  • Viewer - A viewer is the most limited permissions profile. Viewers only have the ability to do the following:
    • View and download transactions
    • View abandoned cart emails
  • Primary Administrator - The primary administrator is a special permission that can only be held by a single person at your firm. It is recommended that your Primary Administrator be the person who is most responsible for the long-term success of your integration with Bolt. Primary Administrators have identical permissions to Administrators, but differ in that they cannot be deleted and cannot have their user profiles modified. This is a security precaution to ensure that your firm always has at least one administrator. If you need to downgrade your primary administrator to a lower permissions level (which will enable deletion), please follow the steps here
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments